Yoga Sutras of Patanjali 1.12-1.16

practice and non-reaction

1.12 abhyāsa-vairāgyābhyām tan-nirodhaḥ

Both practice and non-reaction are required to still the patterning of consciousness.


それら(5 種類の心の活動)の止滅は、継続的実践と欲望の放棄によって(実現する)。

1.13 tatra sthitau yatno ‘bhyāsaḥ

Practice is the sustained effort to rest in that stillness.



1.14 sa tu dīrgha-kāla-nairantarya-satkārādarāsevito dṛḍha-bhūmiḥ

And this practice becomes firmly rooted when it is cultivated skillfully and continuously for a long time.


それ(継続的実践)は、長い期間、中断なく、信念を持って熱心に実践されるとき、(心の 止滅の)不動の基盤となる。

1.15 dṛṣṭānuśravika-viṣaya-vitṛṣṇasya vaśikāra-samjñā vairāgyam

As for non-reaction, one can recognize that it has been fully achieved when no attachment arises in regard to anything at all, whether perceived directly or learned.



1.16 tat paraṃ puruṣa-khyāter guṇa-vaitṛṣṇyam

When the ultimate level of non-reaction has been reached, pure awareness can clearly see itself as independent from the fundamental qualities of nature.


純粋精神を認識し、(根本原質の) 構成要素への執着から完全に自由になるとき、至高の欲望の放棄に到達する。

Published by Xuan Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga Practitioner Online Yoga Class

Leave a Reply