Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

The Yoga Sutras of Patañjali is a collection of Sanskrit sutras on the theory and practice of yoga.They are totally 196 sutras and the sutras was compiled in the early centuries CE, by the sage Patanjali in India who synthesized and organized knowledge about yoga from much older traditions. The Yoga Sutras are best known for its reference to ashtanga, the eight elements of practice are:

帕坦伽利的瑜伽经是汇集瑜伽理论及实践练习的梵文经书,共有196条经文,由印度的圣人帕坦伽利完成于上个世纪早期。这部经书从更古老的印度传统当中,综合并编纂了有关瑜伽的知识。瑜伽经已涉及八支瑜伽的内容而闻名, 这八个练习是:

bout ashtanga ( eight limbs of yoga)

Patañjali divided his Yoga Sutras into four chapters containing in all 196 aphorisms.


  • Samadhi pada : defining what yoga is and enlightenment
  • Sadhana pada : the connection between student and higher Self
  • Vibhuti pada : dedication to the practice and self-discipline
  • Kaivalya pada : liberation or freedom from suffering

  • 三摩地篇(Samadhi pada ):有关瑜伽以及“开悟”的定义
  • 实践篇(Sadhana pada ):学生与高级自我的关系
  • 禅定篇(Vibhuti pada) : 奉献,致力于练习及自律
  • 解脱篇(Kaivalya pada) :在苦难与痛苦中解脱自由

Published by Xuan Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga Practitioner Online Yoga Class

Leave a Reply